During breakfast at the hotel I was staying at, I overheard a mom talking to her college age son. They were talking about graduate school and the mom asked if there were any girls in the group. The son replied, “I’m not looking for a matchmaker”. Then the mom said “No, I meant are there any girls smart enough to get into the graduate program”. I widened my eyes at this. This is a first hand account that I have heard a biased conversation about women since starting my Capstone project. This women is teaching her son that women aren’t smart enough and here, she is a women and should be defending herself! I was infuriated because I’m going to be going to college and I don’t want guys thinking that I’m not smart enough to get there, and if I am there, it’s only because I’m pretty.

